CANNED TUNA SOUP-ER!

It’s already September and I felt like the culinary muse descended upon me last night for a cooking challenge. Ha! I’m not really the competitive type but in the name of mastering the art of cooking, I won’t take ‘NO’ as an answer. After all, my online baby will be about – FOOD and of course my  very unflattering life.

Truth is, I lack the preparation for this challenge. Not so sure what to prepare that would satisfy her discriminating taste. For someone who is a penchant for purchasing canned goods, I went to the pantry and behold! A canned tuna looking straight at me. It’s no-brainer to make a simple SOUP out of the processed tuna.

CannedTunaSoup

The process really couldn’t be simpler and can be done in less than 20 minutes.

Ingredients:

  • 1 canned/180 grams Canned Tuna (I used Century Tuna)
  • 2 tbsp. Olive Oil
  • 1 small onion, (sliced)
  • 1 clove garlic, (chopped)
  • 1 Red Pepper, (grilled and cut into strips)
  • 1 Medium Potato (diced)
  • 2 Cups Water
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Directions:

IMG_6027

  1. Grill the red pepper on a grilled pan or the actually griller if you have one.
  2. Sautee garlic, onions and the grilled red pepper in olive oil until soft.
  3. Add the canned tuna and stir for a minute.
  4. Combine in the potatoes and 2 cups of water.
  5. Bring to a boil for 5 minutes.
  6. Season with salt and black pepper to taste. Cover and cook for an additional minute.
  7. Serve hot.

And there you have it. The resulting soup will make someone feel better in his/her gloomy days. Trust me.

PS: Trying my food photography skills on top of the hallow blocks. A not so good spot to put your bowl of soup on? What do you think? Yey or ney? Hehe.

XOXO: Bena

Leave a Reply

