TOMATO AND GARLIC PASTA

Two of my favorite dishes in the world are chicken and pasta. In fact, if I had a death sentence looming before me, I would ask a big plate of pasta with a roasted chicken with it. And it’s a done deal.

Anyway, I’m in for another pasta treat today. I know what’s running in your mind right now. Can I not get enough of pasta on this blog? My answer is NO! I’m a pasta maniac. And this humble crib deserves it. Trust me, this recipe is not something “ohhh, that’s outside my reach.” but instead can make you think, “ohhh, it looks easy and tasty.” I tell you this is an ultimate comfort food with a sophisticated flair.

IMG_8209

What I like about this recipe are the two essential ingredients – fresh garlic and local tomatoes. We all know it’s a staple in the Italian cuisine. It basically goes hand in hand like bread and butter, bacon and egg and what not. It’s funny though, because I have cooked a number of pasta dishes but never got the chance to document it for some lazy reasons. So forgive me.

Tomato and Garlic pasta is a simple dish with a huge payoff. Here’s how you make it base on the recipe by my favorite Genaro Contaldo. This man is crazy!

IMG_8210

Ingredients:

  • 300 grams angel hair pasta
  • 3 medium size tomatoes (local produce)
  • 6 cloves garlic
  • ¼ cup olive oil
  • 2 tsp. chili flakes
  • salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. Cook pasta according to directions on package. Angel hair cooks for 2 minutes only (major time-saver)
  2. Sauté the garlic, tomatoes in olive oil over medium heat for 2-3 minutes.
  3. Add chili flakes and season with salt and pepper to taste.
  4. When pasta is done cooking and has been drained, add in the tomato mixture and mix well.
  5. Serve hot.

I’m so proud of this amazing dish. I love how the sauce gorgeously fused and coated with the thin pasta. Eating it was both decadent, with all that silky olive oil based sauce, the chunky tomatoes and garlic and all the heat coming from the chili flakes. Since I don’t have the freshest of basils to top it off, I mix in some of my home-made pesto for added flavor. You can always adjust the heat for your kids. This is probably one of the easiest pasta recipes which give you no reason to make it. Bon appetit!

XOXO: Bena

Leave a Reply

